The Makabayan Coalition

Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan (Makabayan) was founded on April 16, 2009. It is a political coalition that is presently comprised of 11 Philippine progressive parties: Bayan Muna, Anakpawis, Gabriela, Kabataan, Courage, Migrante, ACT-Teachers, Katribu, Akap Bata, Piston, Kalikasan and Aking Bikolnon. The national council also includes personages in the field of arts, governance, mass media and people’s organizations. In its founding assembly, Makabayan rallied for change that is embodied in their call "Pilipino para sa Pagbabago, Pagbabago para sa Pilipino" (Filipinos for Change, Change for Filipinos).

Advancing the People's Agenda

Unlike other political organizations, Makabayan is anchored on the principle of empowering the people to make informed decisions and actions on issues that confront and affect them. Makabayan is not a coalition of popular personalities. Rather, it is a coalition of people from different sectors of society. It is a coalition with a definitive vision for change that is nationalist and progressive. It is built on the collective strengths and aspirations of the Filipino as proud, united and patriotic people.

During the past three national elections, Bayan Muna, Gabriela, Anakpawis and Kabataan triumphed and actively participated in Congress as true representatives of the people, proving that victory in elections can be achieved without compromising one’s principles and rights.

With the objective of bringing the people’s agenda to mainstream politics, the eight parties decided to form a coalition to field progressive and nationalist candidates in the local and national elections. The people of Makabayan understand that it is time for our politics of change to be taken to a higher and broader level.

We know that the struggle for the politics of change is daunting, given the prevalence of repressive, violent and corrupt practices in our elections. But we, the Filipino people, know that now is the time for our voices to be heard. With our unity and collective action, we will achieve meaningful and progressive change, in the elections and beyond.

National Officers

- Rafael Mariano and Liza Maza

- Roseller Barinaga

- Satur Ocampo

Vice President
- Teddy Casino

Vice President for Luzon
- Beverly Longid

Vice President for Visayas
- Siegfred Deduro

Vice President for Mindanao
- Athel Hijos

Secretary General
- Nathanael Santiago

Deputy Secretary General
- Robert de Castro

- Perla Abunda

- Yvonne Luna

Director for Organization
- Lutgardo Jurcales

Director for Political Relations
- Grace Saguinsin-Trinidad

10 Regional representatives
11 Party-list representatives

Ex Officio
- Rep. Neri Colmenares, Bayan Muna
- Rep. Luzviminda Ilagan, Gabriela Womens Party
- Rep. Emmi de Jesus, Gabriela Womens Party
- Rep. Raymond Palatino, Kabataan
- Rep. Antonio Tinio, ACT Teachers
- Rep. Fernando Hicap, Anakpawis
- Rep. Carlos Isagani Zarate, Bayan Muna
- Rep. Terry Ridon, Kabataan Party-list

At Large
- Dr. Bienvenido Lumbera
- Raymond Palatino
- Dr. Reynaldo Lesaca Jr.
- Dr. Romeo Quijano
- Joel Lamangan
- Dr. Ed Clemente
- Dr. Lenie Jara
- Atty. Gres Fabros
- Judy Taguiwalo
- Amirah Lidasan
- Joel Maglunsod